Dominic Raab backs Boris Johnson for Tory leader in fresh boost to frontrunner

Hardline Brexiteer has announced he is backing Boris Johnson to be the next leader of the Tory party, after he crashed out of contest yesterday.

Mr Raab becomes the fourth former serious candidate for the top job to back Mr Johnson – Matt Hancock, Esther McVey, and Andrea Leadsom already having pledged their support.

The former Brexit Secretary said Mr Johnson is“the only candidate” who will take Britain out of the European Union by October 31.

“The only candidate who will now do this is Boris Johnson — and so I’ll be supporting him to become our next Prime Minister,” he told the Evening Standard.

It comes as Tory MPs prepare for their third round of voting in their contest to pick the next party leader and PM.

Raab – like our chicken – delivered Boris a birthday gift
(Image: AFP/Getty Images)


Five candidates – Boris Johnson, Jeremy Hunt , Michael Gove , Rory Stewart and Sajid Javid – remain.

Mr Johnson is the clear frontrunner.

But maverick Rory Stewart unexpectedly survived yesterday’s voting and fighting to stay in the race,as the party prepares to whittle its candidates down to the final two by Friday.

SECOND ROUND (33 MPs to pass)

  • Boris Johnson –  126
  • Jeremy Hunt – 46
  • Michael Gove – 41
  • Rory Stewart – 37
  • Sajid Javid – 33
  • Dominic Raab – 30 (KNOCKED OUT)

FIRST ROUND (17 MPs to pass)

  • Boris Johnson – 114
  • Jeremy Hunt – 43
  • Michael Gove – 37
  • Dominic Raab – 27
  • Sajid Javid – 23
  • Matt Hancock – 20 (WITHDREW)
  • Rory Stewart – 19 
  • Andrea Leadsom – 11 (KNOCKED OUT)
  • Mark Harper – 10 (KNOCKED OUT)
  • Esther McVey – 9 (KNOCKED OUT)


Mr Stewart also claimed that two former supporters of hard Brexiteer Dominic Raab support him in today’s ballot.

The remaining five candidates are scrambling to win over Mr Raab’s supporters after he was eliminated yesterday.

The third round of voting starts today at 3pm, carries on until 5pm and the result is announced at 6pm.

Read More

Tory leadership contest